2015 Video Contest Winners

2015 Healthcare Video Winner: Healthcare for the Future

Student producers around the state creatively brought South Dakota’s demand for healthcare workers into focus during the 2015 Healthcare Video Contest. Three cash prizes went to students and their schools in Yankton, Vermillion and Rapid City.

Healthcare for the Future won the top prize of $1,000. Yankton High School students Becky Frick, Sydney Ingalls, Erin Luken and McKenna Golden put together their 30-second piece in Dr. Angela Hejl’s Anatomy/Physiology class. Half the prize, $500, will go to the school with the reminder split amongst the team.

A Better World produced by Vermillion High School student Jordan Fostvedt, of Brandy Wallin’s Anatomy Class, took runner-up honors.

Also garnering a runner-up award was Healthcare Careers produced by Rapid City students Savannah Johnson, Emma Smith and Megan Wattenhofer. These students were taking part in David Johnson’s Speech and Debate course.

Runners-up each receive $500 to be split with their schools.

The contest was sponsored by the South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Midcontinent Communications, South Dakota Healthcare Workforce Center and Yankton Rural AHEC. Entrants produced a 30-second video promoting healthcare careers.

South Dakota’s healthcare industry is projected to be among the largest growth industries from 2012 to 2022. The industry is expected to add 7,305 workers to South Dakota’s economy, which represents 13.8% growth. The 65 and older population will increase by 95% between 2015 and 2035 and by the latter year will nearly be one-fourth of the state’s total population.

Runner-Up – A Better World

Runner-Up – Healthcare Career Video