About Us

The Southeast/Yankton Rural Area Health Education Center, is a non-profit organization, serving a primary 24-county area in southeastern South Dakota: Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Lake, Lincoln, Lyman, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Tripp, Turner, Union, and Yankton counties.

SE SD AHEC works with partners to create a sustainable healthcare workforce in our rural South Dakota service area. Some SE SD AHEC’s activities include: illustrating healthcare career opportunities to young people, offering continuing education opportunities for professionals, and developing venues for interprofessional education for post-secondary students in rural communities.

Established in 1979, the mission at SE SD AHEC has remained the same. “To enhance access to quality healthcare, particularly primary and preventive care, by improving the supply and distribution of healthcare professions through community/academic education partnerships.”

SESD AHEC Board of Directors

Benjamin Aaker, MD
Physician – Avera Sacred Heart
Asst. Professor, Sanford School of Medicine

Rita Blasius
CEO – Avera St. Benedicts Health Center
SE SD AHEC – Board of Directors, Chair

Sandra Durick
Sandra Durick Consulting
SE SD AHEC Executive Director

David Gillies
Business Banking Officer
First Dakota National Bank

Tammy Hatting
VP Post-Acute Care and Education
South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations

Carena Jarding
Nursing Program Director
Mitchell Technical Institute

Whitney Lucas Molitor, Ph.D
Assistant Professor, Capstone Director, Chair of Admissions
University of South Dakota

Erica Peterson
CEO – Sanford Chamberlain Medical Center
SE SD AHEC Board of Directors – Vice Chair

Pam Rezac
Retired CEO – Avera Sacred Heart Hospital

For IRS 990 documents
Please contact us at info@yrahec.org